Culture Day

Hey guys!

I hope everyone is having a great Friday so far. Do you ever have those moments when there is something that you need to say but you don’t know how to say it? Today, I had on my heart to write a post, but was unsure on what to discuss. Then I realized that today is Culture Day, so in honor of Culture Day, I wanted to discuss my experiences relating to culture. So without further ado, let’s begin♥.

Culture is defined as: the customary beliefs, social forms, and material traits of a racial, religious, or social group, according to Merriam-Webster.  For the longest time I thought of culture in terms of a racial group. I was born in the United States but I identified as Ghanaian and that was the culture I knew from the longest time. Through a continuous journey of discovery, I realize that there are multiple cultures that shape who I am. My culture is composed of Christianity, Ghanaian, black culture and my Professional field of work.

In class, I’ve learned more about how intersectionality plays a significant role in how you view the world. Throughout this process I am learning what it means to acculturate and becoming the best version of myself. For me, culture is home and is not limited to a specific region. There is nothing quite like being connected with like-minded individuals.

Through the culture of Christianity I have learned unconditional love, hope, compassion, grace, peace, mercy, self-control, kindness, joy, discernment and what it truly means to be free. Through Ghanaian culture, I have learned the importance of tradition, honor, community, hard-work and sacrifice. Through black culture, I have learned what it means to be resilient, unified and to persevere. Through my profession, I have learned what it means to be self less, to empathize, to be open-minded and patient.

Culture always has a special place in my heart. I have learned so many lessons and know that I will learn more as I grow older. The beauty of culture is the lessons that you learn along the way that help you to become the best version of yourself. It’s important to note that our center shouldn’t be on culture, but on the One who created us to experience culture.

During the various seasons that we are in, let’s remember to extend grace, mercy, unconditional love and be a light to others. Through this we learn how to be unified as human beings rather than being divided. In a world that demands you to be selfish, let’s change the narrative and be self-less. Through being self less others see Jesus in us and seeds of hope are planted in the chaotic world we live in.

What does culture mean to you? What have you learned through your culture? Let me know in the comments♥.

*Picture Courtesy of: Motola P. Photography

-Stay Blessed,

Bee♥

 

5 Replies to “Culture Day”

Leave a Reply

