Inspiration

Hey guys!

This post about Inspiration has taken me more than half a year to write. I believe this is majorly due to the perfectionist in me, trying to make sure that this post sounded great.  However, I am okay with knowing that this post won’t be perfect. Here’s to my imperfectly, perfect Inspiration post♥.

Inspiration as defined by Google states that it is the process of being mentally stimulated to do or feel something, especially to do something creative. From a young age I have been right-brained and learned to embrace it. Inspiration comes in various forms and that’s one of the main reasons why I love inspiration. Inspiration is subjective and we are surrounded by a world full of inspiration. I wanted to share with you guys ways that I am inspired♥.

My Inspiration stems from:

Nature ( I love the outdoors and I’m in constant awe of God’s creation. I recently went hiking and found a great spot with a beautiful view.)

Poetry (It’s amazing to me how simple words can evoke so much emotion and cause us to look at things differently. Maya Angelou, Jackie Hill Perry and Preston Perry are my favorite poets.  I plan to attend a Poetry festival next month and I am excited to hear from some of my favorite poets.)

Books (One of the more recent books I read: Homegoing, brought insight into the horror of slavery through the eyes of two Ghanaian half-sisters).

Photos (I enjoy looking at photos of food, fashion, travels, buildings, fashion, and most aesthetically pleasing pictures. Needless to say I’m a huge fan of Pinterest, which I discussed in this post.)

Education (I find there is a constant need to educate oneself and through this I discovered that mental health was where my passion lied. In addition to educating myself in the area of mental health and politics. I enjoy watching Ted Talks, historical documentaries and documentaries in general. We Will Rise: Michelle Obama’s Mission to Educate, is one of the best documentaries I have seen. It’s uplifting,  inspiring and truly one of the rare documentaries that dwells in your heart).

-Art (Art spaces/ museums have a special place in my heart. I don’t frequent them as much as I would like to, but I recently attended an art exhibit over feminism and immigration control. The art exhibit was beautifully done. I enjoyed being able to explore the various pieces of art work and learning more about each artist in the process.)

Culture (My culture has been a huge part of my life from a young age. Over the years, learning more about my culture has helped instill what I value, believe and some of my goals for the future.)

-Faith ( We often think of life as the greatest teacher, but I truly believe faith is the greatest teacher. There is so much I have learned through faith and continue to learn. Life throws us various curve balls, but there’s a resting peace I have due to my daily faith walk with God.)

Scripture/Quotes (If a quote or scripture catches my eye, there is a good chance I will print it out and pin it to my wall. Ruth 1:16 is one of my all-time favorites♥.)

Food (One of my favorite ways to spend my time is to cook/bake and Pinterest has helped me in that area. Here is one of my Pinterest creations. Cooking helps me relax and it’s a great way to save money, instead of eating out several times a week. I feel better knowing that I know exactly is going into my food.)

Music (I am constantly listening to music and have discovered so many great artists over the course of the years. One of my favorite genres are urban contemporary gospel. Mali Music is definitely an artist I would recommend, he tells stories of faith, love, heart break, joy and peace♥.)

-Conversation (I recently had a conversation with my dad about his story and it deeply resonated with me. There’s something so beautiful in hearing other’s stories and I believe a major part of that, is due to how powerful words are. I constantly try to educate myself and a great way to do that, is by hearing other’s perspectives.)

Blog Collaborations ( I have worked with several companies and I constantly get inspired by the representation of their company, as well as the ideas that they propose. I look forward to working with more companies and through this process, working on posts that are different from I normally do. Here are a couple of the companies, I have worked with over the previous and current year: Uncommon Goods, Pure FlixFSJ Shoes and A Gilded Leaf.)

*If you guys are interested in seeing pictures of what captures my eye, feel free to follow me on Instagram (located on my side-bar)*

What and who inspires you? Let me know in the comments♥. I look forward to hearing from you guys.

-Stay Blessed

-Bee♥

4 thoughts on “Inspiration

    1. Yes, I have a feeling you would enjoy it a lot. I’m glad that Michelle Obama is still doing what she can for the Let Girls Learn Initiative. Yeah TED talks are so interesting and I like that they have so many different ones to listen to. That’s awesome that we have so much in common!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

