Mental Health Awareness Month

Happy Memorial Day everyone,

I want to take a moment to express my gratitude for those who risk their lives on a daily basis for our freedom. Freedom isn’t free and it’s important that we acknowledge that it comes with a dear price. Today and everyday we remember those who died sacrificing their lives for us. From the bottom of my heart, thank you! I am eternally grateful for your sacrifice♥.

As the month of May comes to an end, I want to discuss Mental Health Awareness. May is known as Mental Health Awareness month and more than ever it’s important that we take the time to realize that numerous people have mental illnesses. I’ve seen and heard too many disregarding mental illness as not important or as being dramatic. It’s important that we truly empathize with those who suffer from a mental illness.

From personal experience I understand the despair from struggling with depression and anxiety. It’s not an easy road and it does not just go away. It’s okay to seek help, to talk to someone about what you are going through. It’s okay to not be okay, we are human beings, it happens. It’s important to be patient with others as well as yourself.

There is a lack of compassion when discussing mental health and I believe this is due mainly to our individualistic culture. We live in a culture that is primarily focused on racing to the top, to looking out for oneself rather than each other. No one should have to go through a mental illness by themselves. I myself am choosing to learn more about mental health and my hope is to spread some light in a dark world through this.

I’m aware that empathy isn’t the answer to mental health but it’s certainly a great step in the right direction. It’s amazing how a simple affirmation or gesture can change someone’s day. Mental Health is complicated and as a spiritual/religious person I believe it’s important that we acknowledge that our Creator doesn’t want us to suffer in silence but instead be led towards others who can help us through our difficult times/seasons.

Life is hard, it’s raw and filled with highs and lows. At your lowest point, I want you to remember that you are loved and you deserve to be on this earth. There is something so beautiful on the other side of your pain. Though it may feel like an eternity to get to the other side I want you to know that progress is progress whether you have to crawl, climb, walk or run to get there.

What I have learned is that empathy opens the door to communication which can truly impact other people’s lives. Every day you are on this earth you have a purpose to fulfill and it is my hope and prayer that you continue to move forward. Progression looks different for everyone,  getting out of bed is progression, acknowledging that you need help is progression, seeking help is progression.

I want us to remember that being kind is important, empathy is important, being there for others is important and being selfless is important. We need to be the light for others during difficult and positive times. Lastly, it’s important that we focus on serving others and not ourselves.

     “Let no one ever come to you without leaving better and happier. Be the living expression of God’s kindness: kindness in your face, kindness in your eyes, kindness in your smile.”    

*If you have any questions or concerns feel free to e-mail me at: blessing.d.boamah@gmail.com

-Stay Blessed

-Bee♥

8 thoughts on “Mental Health Awareness Month

    1. Thank you ella, mental health is so dear to my heart and my hope is that someone reading this feels uplifted in some way 🙂 I appreciate your kind words. Much Love to you too. I look forward to reading more of your posts 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

