Self-Confidence

I had this on my heart this afternoon and became inspired to share what I’ve learned along this journey. I’ve always been the timid, shy girl who had quite a bit to say but was scared to open my mouth. I was afraid of being judged by others and that kept me from expressing ideas. I was too concerned about what others would think of me, most of my teenage years were like this. I had self-doubt, fear and insecurity issues that became a part of my life. These primary internal issues became the source of my limitations.

Growing up I was overweight and that influenced the confidence I had in myself. I found myself wishing to be thinner, to be prettier, to be lighter, I wasn’t comfortable with who I was as God’s creation. It certainly didn’t help in high school where teenagers can be harsh. There were limitations I placed on myself because of my fear of the judgments of others. It was a continuous cycle that needed to be broken, in order for me to be truly  at peace internally. There is something so liberating about refusing to let others judgments define your life.It wasn’t until 19 where I can say I truly cared less about what other people thought of me, I give thanks to God for this. When I worked on my relationship with God, I stopped being so concerned by the judgments of man and the limitations I had previously placed on myself dissipated. Apart from feeling free, I took more risks, I reached out of my comfort zone and became more social. One common element we all need as humans, is to have faith in ourselves. We need to know that there is light at the end of the tunnel. God created us to be extraordinary beings always remember that, be the light for someone else.  We need to talk people when we are feeling down, that we support each other and lift each other up. self confidence

 

Overcoming inadequacy in self-confidence is no easy task, it’s a daily decision to believe in yourself. For myself, God helped me with my internal struggles with self-confidence. In addition, I would emphasize the importance of doing things out of our comfort zone. For example, joining an organization, running for a position in an organization, going to a meeting where you can socialize to meet new people. Buy a planner, write down little goals that you want to accomplish, it helps. Most importantly take this self-confidence journey one step at a time, do a little each day and remind yourself fear is a tool used to hinder your happiness.

“For God hath not  given us the spirit of fear; but of power, love and a sound mind.”-2Timothy 1:7

(Featured Picture courtesy of: http://www.successmasterycamp.com) (second picture courtesty of http://www.alquaranclasses.com

2 thoughts on “Self-Confidence

  1. I love your realness and for sharing this! I feel we all go through seasons of self-doubt. I couldn’t agree more, stepping outside of our comfort zone can lead to beautiful things! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

